CMF has been a major financial supporter of several swimming pool upgrades ithroughout Central Montana including the complete renovation of the Lewistown Swimming Pool completed in the summer of 2016 (above). CMF also granted funds for the new emergency and lab departments at Central Montana Medical Center (see new lab, below) completed in the spring of 2015. CMF holds nearly 200 permanent endowment and pass through funds for organizations like Friends of the Pool and CMMC.

Lab open house web


In 1983, a group of businessmen held an organizational meeting with the purpose of creating a foundation that would serve as a "clearinghouse" to grant funds to improve the quality of life in Central Montana. The Central Montana Foundation (CMF) was officially founded in May 1984 and is the oldest community foundation in Montana. Visionaries who organized the new foundation included Don Pfau, Al McRae, Don Davison, Jim Wilkins, Leonard McKinney, Fred Schell and Don Romo, all of Lewistown.

CMF provides area residents with a means to give back to the Central Montana community. The first substantial gift to CMF was $3,500 from Col. Joe Montgomery in 1984. Since then, thousands of generous donors have grown CMF and as it celebrates its 31st anniversary, CMF is the second largest community foundation in the State of Montana. CMF supports educational, cultural, civic and healthcare projects in Central Montana and millions of grant funds have been awarded since its founding - all thanks to the generosity of its donors.

The Foundation is managed by a Board of Directors who supervise the disposition of donations. The Board meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month and consists of 13 directors, assisted by an executive director, accountant and financial manager. For more information, contact Carrie Mantooth, executive director, at (406) 538-6130, email, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


CMF Board of Directors and support personnel include:

President, Dean Comes
1st President, Sandra Westhoff
2nd Vice President, Josh Webber      
Secretary/Treasurer, Robyn Bakkedahl
Alan Aldrich
Brandon Bantz
Bret Carpenter

Sonny Comes
Brian Henderson

Diane Oldenburg
Thom Peck
Carl Seilstad
Jennifer Weeden

Executive Director: Carrie Mantooth
Investment Manager: Allied Investment Advisors

Accountants: Huffine, McMillan, Arntzen & Ruckman