About Central Montana Foundation

About Us

In 1983, a group of businessmen held an organizational meeting with the purpose of creating a foundation that would serve as a "clearinghouse" to grant funds to improve the quality of life in Central Montana. The Central Montana Foundation (CMF) was officially founded in May 1984 and is the oldest community foundation in Montana. Visionaries who organized the new foundation included Don Pfau, Al McRae, Don Davison, Jim Wilkins, Leonard McKinney, Fred Schell and Don Romo, all of Lewistown.

What We Do

CMF provides area residents with a means to give back to the Central Montana community. The first substantial gift to CMF was $3,500 from Col. Joe Montgomery in 1984. Since then, thousands of generous donors have grown CMF into one of the largest community foundations in the state of Montana. Total assets are about $40 million, including CMF's 12 unrestricted endowments, scholarship funds, 11 rural community endowments, and a variety of endowments and pass-through funds for eligible non-profits and tax-exempt organizations in Central Montana. CMF supports healthcare, essential services, educational, civic, cultural and recreational projects in Central Montana and millions of grant funds have been awarded since its founding - all thanks to the generosity of its donors.

Lewistown Pool
Central Montana Foundation Board of Directors

Who We Are

The Foundation is managed by a 13-member Board of Directors, assisted by an executive director, accountant and financial manager. For more information, contact CMF Executive Director Carrie Mantooth at (406) 538-6130, email, cmtfoundation@midrivers.com.

CMF Board of Directors and support personnel include:
President: Dean Comes (representing First Bank of Montana)
1st Vice President: Brian Henderson (representing Fergus Federal Credit Union)
2nd Vice President: Jennifer Weeden (representing Wells Fargo Bank)
Secretary/Treasurer: Robyn Bakkedahl (director at large)

Cody Langbehn (representing Central Montana Medical Center)
Megan Bartel (representing Central Montana Medical Center)
Powell Becker (representing Stockman Bank)
Sonny Comes (representing Fergus County)
Josh Webber (representing Farmer's State Bank)
KellyAnne Terry (represening City of Lewistown)
Thom Peck (representing Lewistown School District No. One)
Carl Seilstad (representing Fergus County)
Open (representing Bank of the Rockies)

Executive Director: Carrie Mantooth
Administrative Assistant: Mariah Shammel
Investment Manager: Allied Investment Advisors
Accountants: Huffine, McMillan, Arntzen & Ruckman PLLP

Join the Cause

By working through the Foundation, worthy projects are able to provide donors with a tax deductible avenue for donations. CMF has 12 unrestricted permanent endowments from which income is used for its grant-making program. In a typical year CMF grants upwards of $175,000 to local organizations for healthcare, essential services, education, civic, recreational and cultural projects!